NIH

Leadership Team:

Lawrence Sinoway, MD
Director, CTSI
lsinoway@psu.edu 
717.531.6853

Urs Leuenberger, MD
Co-Director, CTSI
uleuenberger@psu.edu 
717.531.7455

Susan McHale, PhD
Co-Director, CSTI
x2u@psu.edu
814.865.2663

Diane Thiboutot, MD
Co-Director, Education
dmt3@psu.edu
717.531.7437

Program Leadership:

Informatics
Jason Hughes, MBA, MS
Research Informatics Officer
College of Medicine
jhughes7@hmc.psu.edu 
717.531.3727

Vasant Honavar, PhD
Chair, Information Sciences + Technology
vhonavar@ist.psu.edu
814.865.3141

Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Research Design (BERD)
Vernon Chinchilli, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Chair, Public Health Sciences
vmc1@psu.edu
717.531.4262

Mosuk Chow, PhD
Senior Scientist
mchow@stat.psu.edu
814.863.8128

Lan Kong, PhD
Associate Professor, Biostatistics + Bioinformatics
luk14@psu.edu
717.531.7178

Clinical Research Services
Linda Collins, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Human Development + Family Studies, Statistics
lmc8@psu.edu
814.865.5090

Penny Kris-Etherton, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
pmk3@psu.edu
814.863.2923

Richard Legro, MD
Professor, Obstetrics + Gynecology, Public Health Sciences
rsl1@psu.edu
717.531.8478

Eugene Lengerich, PhD
Professor, Public Health Sciences
ejl6@psu.edu 
717.531.7178

Joshua Smyth, PhD
Professor, Biobehavioral Health, Medicine
jms1187@psu.edu
814.863.8402

Neal Thomas, MD
Associate Dean, Clinical Research
nthomas@hmc.psu.edu
717.531.5337

Community Engagement 
Cynthia Chuang, MD
Professor, Medicine, Public Health Sciences
cchuang@hmc.psu.edu
717.531.5160

Mark Greenberg, PhD 
Professor, Human Development + Family Studies
mxg47@psu.edu 
814.863.0112

Teams + Collaboration
Aparna Joshi, PhD
Professor, Management + Organization 
aparnajo@psu.edu
814.863.0099

Education + Workforce Development
Orfeu Buxton, PhD
Associate Professor, Biobehavioral Health
orfeu@psu.edu 
814.863.7256

James Pawelczyk, PhD
Associate Professor, Physiology + Kinesiology
jap18@psu.edu
814. 865.3453

Janice Penrod, PhD
Professor, Nursing
jlp198@psu.edu
814.863.9734

Connie Rogers, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor, Nutritional Sciences
cjr102@psu.edu 
814.863.6103

Diane Thiboutot, MD
Professor, Dermatology
dmt3@psu.edu
717.531.7437

Gail D. Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor, Medicine
gdt114@psu.edu
717.531.0003 x287087

Sheila Vrana, PhD
Associate Dean for Research
svrana@hmc.psu.edu 
717.531.8495

Regulatory Support 
Patricia Gordon, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
plg12@psu.edu 
717.531.8414

Debra Thurley, JD
Director, Research Compliance
djd116@psu.edu
814.865.2955

Ethics
Michael Green, MD
Professor, Humanities, Medicine
mjg15@psu.edu
717.531.8778

Jennifer McCormick, Ph.D., M.P.P.
Associate Professor, Humanities
jmccormick@hmc.psu.edu
717.531.8778

Erich Schienke, PhD
Instructor, Energy + Mineral Engineering, Lecturer, Bioethics
ews11@psu.edu
814.865.3046

Pilot Funding
Aron Lukacher, Ph.D. 
Professor, Microbiology and Immunology
alukacher@hmc.psu.edu
717.531.6522

Jack Vanden Heuvel, Ph.D. 
Professor, Molecular Toxicology
jpv2@psu.edu
814.863.8532

SITE Program 
Thomas Lloyd, PhD
Professor, Public Health Sciences
tlloyd@hmc.psu.edu
717.531.6258

Skip to toolbar