KL2 Program Directors

The KL2 Program is co-directed by Diane Thiboutot, M.D. at the Penn State College of Medicine campus in Hershey and Janice Penrod, Ph.D., RN, FGSA, FAAN at the University Park campus.

Janice Penrod, Ph.D., RN, FHSA, FAAN
Dr. Penrod is a tenured professor in the College of Nursing (CoN) and holds an appointment in the Department of Humanities at the College of Medicine. She has served on the Community Engagement Research Core of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute for the past several years and is active in Clinical and Translational Science events. Dr. Penrod has a long history of service to the College of Nursing, including as the Professor-in-Charge of graduate programs and the founding director of the Center for Nursing Research (CNR). Her strengths include institution-building, program development and strategic planning. For example, in response to an identified need for the College of Nursing to integrate clinical faculty from Penn State’s geographically dispersed campuses toward a unified research mission, she secured funding from the Social Science Research Institute and the Clinical and Translational Science Institute in 2014 to launch a training and mentorship model, the Research Nurse Initiative. Dr. Penrod spearheaded the adoption of a new clinical professorial rank system to incentivize clinical faculty to also take on research roles. The success of this program was leveraged to secure Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) funding for an engagement award designed to advance trained research nurses’ active engagement with the communities and to train community partners in research.

Dr. Penrod was a faculty member in a national leadership academy on geriatric nursing sponsor by Sigma Theta Tau International and funded by the John S. Hartford Foundation. Her work with the Center for Nursing Research, the Research Nurse Initiative, and Junior Faculty Mentoring Program within the College of Nursing provides a strong foundation to co-lead the KL2 Program. Dr. Penrod has a rich history about the research resources and culture at the University Park Campus. Her research focuses on informal caregiving and end-of-life care with expertise in qualitative methods. Dr. Penrod has a strong track record of external funding and collaborative research partnerships.

Diane Thiboutot, M.D.
Dr. Thiboutot is a tenured professor in the Department of Dermatology at the College of Medicine, Associate Dean of Clinical and Translational Research Education and Training at Penn State, former co-director of Penn State’s M.D./Ph.D. program and former medical director for Penn State’s K30 Program. She has been co-director of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s KL2 Program since 2011 and now serves as the associate program director for the Clinical and Translational Science Institute. Dr. Thiboutot’s research focuses on translational studies investigating the mechanisms by which retinoids regulate skin biology. Her laboratory has partnered with industry to test novel compounds that reduce skin lipid production. To date, 3 compounds initially tested in her laboratory are now in multi-center Phase 3 clinical trials for acne. Dr Thiboutot manages an active clinical research unit in dermatology, with over 100 trials) as well as, serving as PI on a National Institutes of Health (NIH) U01 award to develop outcomes measures for acne clinical trials. As part of this project she leads an international team with members in the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.

Dr. Thiboutot is actively involved in mentoring KL2 Scholars, M.D./Ph.D. students, graduate students, junior faculty in her department and other junior faculty applying for K awards. She co-directs Penn State’s K Award Workshop. Dr. Thiboutot’s research career was fostered by excellent mentorship in a collaborative environment and funding through Dermatology Foundation fellowships, a K08 Award and subsequently R01 and U01 Awards. In addition, Dr. Thiboutot has served on the Arthritis Connective Tissues and Skin study section of the National Institutes of Health and continues to serve on an ad hoc basis. She is committed to fostering the next generation of clinical and translational science researchers.